Gov. Walker declares state of emergency in 17 counties

Gov. Walker declares state of...

MADISON, Wis. (AP) - Gov. Scott Walker has declared a state of emergency in 17 western Wisconsin counties following torrential rains and flooding.

Walker issued the declaration Friday afternoon. His office said in a news release that between 6 and 8 inches of rain fell Wednesday night, causing flash floods and rivers to rise to major flood stage. More storms were expected Friday night.

The counties include Buffalo, Crawford, Dane, Grant, Green, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Pepin, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Trempealeau, and Vernon.

Walker directed state agencies to assist people affected by the storms and called the Wisconsin National Guard to active duty as Adjutant General Donald Dunbar deems necessary to help with recovery efforts.


  • Sign up for Email/Text Alerts
    Copyright 2016 by WKBT News8000. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

This Week's Circulars