Obama declares disaster in Minnesota

President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for Minnesota because of March storms and flooding.

Obama on Tuesday ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the disaster area.

Federal money is available to state and eligible local governments – and certain private nonprofits – on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and repair or replacement of damaged facilities.

Those counties are Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Clay, Grant, Lac qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lyon, McLeod, Nicollet, Redwood, Renville, Scott, Sibley, Stevens, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.