Viterbo announces distinguished service recipients

The Saint John XXIII Award winners

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WKBT) - The awards will be presented at a banquet and ceremony held on campus Thursday, May 25.

Darryle Clott, a Holocaust educator who has played a crucial role in bringing Holocaust survivors to the La Crosse area to share their incredible and inspiring stories, and Dick and Sheila Wieser, outstanding advocates for children and people facing challenging circumstances, are the recipients of the Viterbo University 2017 Saint John XXIII Award for Distinguished Service.

Clott let the effort to bring Nobel Peace Prize winner Elie Wiesel, Presidential Medal of Honor winner Gerda Weissmann Klein, and numerous other Holocaust survivors to La Crosse. She was one of 10 American Holocaust educators chosen to travel to Poland to study. She has been honored with numerous awards, including the Ellis Island Medal of Honor in 2011.

Dick and Sheila Wieser have done a tremendous amount of good in their community throughout their lives. The Wiesers adopted 12 children of various backgrounds and abilities and today the couple has 19 grandchildren. The couple has also been supporters of civic projects and numerous community causes, including local Boys and Girls Clubs. They also have served or are serving with the La Crescent Community Foundation, La Crescent City Government, Rotary Club and more. Their Catholic faith is very important to them and they are very active in their church.

The Saint John XXIII Award is the highest non-academic award bestowed by Viterbo University. Recipients are chosen on the basis of contributions in one or several of the following categories: education, business, philanthropy, peace and justice, and religious life.

Top Videos

Latest News

This Week's Circulars