Three honored as 2017 Iverson Freking award winners

Award recognizes community work

Iverson Freking Award Winners Announced

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WKBT) - Three members of the community are being honored for their contributions to the area.

Bill Hoel, Reverend Curtis Miller and Maureen Freedland are this year's recipients of the Iverson Freking Ecumenical Recognition Award.

The award is given every year by the Bethany St. Joseph Corporation to recognize those who make a positive impact on their communities while also promoting spiritual endeavors.

"It is a recognition that I cherish because it points to the work that we did in Amos as work that really contributed to the wellbeing of the community, so on behalf of all of Amos, I'm very grateful to have this time to celebrate the work that we've done together," said Rev. Miller.

Freedland says it's nice to be recognized for her interfaith work, especially since she has a different background than other recipients.

"It really is an honor to get as a Jewish person that's based on work that I did with Christians, because interfaith work is so important to me," said Freedland.

The three honorees will formally receive their awards at a banquet in January.

Top Videos

Latest News

This Week's Circulars