Minnesotans 65 and older can schedule COVID-19 vaccines starting Tuesday

ST. PAUL, Minn. (WKBT) — Minnesotans age 65 and up can begin scheduling appointments for COVID-19 community vaccine clinics starting at noon Tuesday.

Some Minnesotans eligible to receive a COVID-19 vaccine will be able to sign up for appointments for both the first and second dose of vaccine at one of the state’s nine community vaccination pilot clinics through a new website and call center launched Tuesday by the State of Minnesota. The clinics will initially serve adults age 65 and older, as well as prekindergarten through grade 12 educators, staff, and child care workers.

“Every shot in the arm is another step toward ending this pandemic and these clinics will help us meet the goal of getting millions of Minnesotans vaccinated as quickly and as safely as possible,” Minnesota Commissioner of Health Jan Malcolm said.

Because this is a limited pilot program, vaccine demand is certain to outpace available doses at this time, and there will be a limited number of appointments available. Minnesotans are encouraged to remain patient as the state waits for more vaccine doses from the federal government. Appointments are required.

“To be clear, we do not have enough vaccine for everyone who wants one. Appointment slots will fill very quickly, and most Minnesotans will need to be patient as we wait for more vaccine to arrive in the state. But we are working hard to build a community vaccination system so we are ready along with pharmacies and clinics and others to get Minnesotans immunized once the federal government provides those doses,” said Malcolm.

Minnesotans age 65 and older can make appointments by visiting mn.gov/vaccine or by calling 612-426-7230 or toll free, 1-833-431-2053. Minnesotans should attempt to make an appointment online before dialing the call center. Minnesotans who cannot immediately make an appointment may be able to sign up for a waitlist.

Available appointments will refresh every Tuesday at noon.

The pilot clinics are located in Andover, Brooklyn Center, Fergus Falls, Mountain Iron, Thief River Falls, St. Cloud, North Mankato, Rochester and Marshall.

For more information, visit the Minnesota Department of Health website.