Mayo announces changes to visitor restrictions starting Thursday

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WKBT) — Mayo Clinic Health System in our area will allow additional visitors beginning Thursday.

Two designated visitors will be allowed per patient in the clinic and hospital in the southwest Wisconsin region, except in the chemotherapy treatment room. Visitors under 16 will not be allowed in the hospital at this time.

Hospital visiting hours will be 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. each day.

Designated visitors must wear a cloth mask and will be screened for symptoms of acute respiratory illness or communicable infection. If you forget a mask, Mayo Clinic will provide one.

The updated visitor policy allows for compassionate exceptions, which will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. Two support people can remain throughout the hospital stay for obstetrical patients.

Visitors for patients who are positive for COVID-19 or potentially positive for COVID-19 may be permitted only in rare circumstances, as approved by the medical care team and hospital leaders.

Mayo Clinic Health System Southwest Wisconsin Region includes hospitals in La Crosse and Sparta, along with clinics in Arcadia, Caledonia, Holmen, La Crosse, Onalaska, Prairie du Chien, Sparta and Tomah.