Local DARE students recognized across Wisconsin for their essays

Essay part of DARE graduation

A couple of local students are receiving state-wide recognition today for their participation in a drug-education program.

Lilly Ackerman, a student at la Crosse’s Southern Bluffs Elementary School, was picked as the 2017 DARE essay winner for Wisconsin. Lydia Houge from Onalaska’s Saint Patrick’s Elementary School was the runner up.

The essays highlight what the students experienced and learned through the program. Local DARE officers say the pair were able to show how the lessons will impact their lives.

“She gave real, true-life examples of applying what she learned in class to real-life situations. You hope the students are doing that, but to actually have one write about how they used what we taught them in class, it was a pretty neat thing,” said La Crosse Police Department Officer Kurt Weaver.

Each DARE student is required to submit an essay to graduate from the program. DARE officers from across the state then vote on their favorite essay each year.