La Crosse County to get community-based COVID-19 vaccination clinic

MADISON, Wis. (WKBT) — La Crosse County is among four new locations for COVID-19 vaccination clinics announced Tuesday by Gov. Tony Evers and the Wisconsin Department of Health Services.

The other three will be in Racine and Marathon counties, with the last clinic split between Douglas and Barron counties. Locations will open within the next two months.

“Our first week of the DHS community-based vaccination clinic at Rock County was a success and we are excited to continue launching more of these community clinics across Wisconsin,” said  Evers. “We are continuing to work to get vaccine doses across our state as soon as we have doses available. These community-based sites are going to be critical to our work making sure that Wisconsinites can get vaccinated so we can put this pandemic behind us.”

The new clinics—which are made possible through collaboration with AMI Expeditionary Healthcare, the University of Wisconsin system, local public health departments, and other local partners—were selected to address gaps in vaccine access and support vaccination efforts. Various factors including population demographics, local health capacity, operations, and concentration of other vaccine providers are taken into consideration when planning for these vaccination clinics. All individuals currently eligible for the vaccine, regardless of where they live, will be able to schedule an appointment.

“We’re excited to bring this resource to our community. As we have additional information and details available we’ll be sure to share,” said La Crosse County health educator Maggie Smith.

As the state continues to expand vaccination efforts, COVID-19 has not gone away. Wisconsinites are still encouraged to mask up, stay physically distant, and wash hands frequently to help stop the spread of COVID-19 and keep communities safe.For information, resources, and data related to Wisconsin’s COVID-19 vaccination program, visit Your COVID-19 Vaccination HQ.