La Crosse Co. DA given ‘Prosecutor of the Year’ award

La Crosse County District Attorney Tim Gruenke won the “Prosecutor of the Year” award from the Wisconsin Association of Homicide Investigators (WAHI).

Gruenke was presented the award at the organization’s annual awards banquet Thursday night in the Wisconsin Dells. WAHI is a non-profit organization that provides training to law enforcement professionals across the state.

According to WAHI’s Facebook page and WAHI Wards Chairman Steve Brinza, here are the recipients of other awards that were presented:
Citations of Exemplary Professionalism were given to Wisconsin Assistant Attorney Generals David Wambach and Gary Freyberg, Racine District Attorney Rich Chiapete and Racine County investigator Tom Knaus.
The Distinguished Service Award was presented to retired Vilas County Sheriff John Niebuhr.
The Public Service Award was given to Mary Jo Werner.
The Meritorious Service Award was presented to retired Wisconsin Department of Criminal Investigation agent Jim Ohm and Bayfield County Investigator Brent Bratley.
A memorial in the name of deceased Janesville Detective Michael Duerr was issued.
Investigator of the Year: Retired Department of Criminal Investigation Rick Luell.
Outgoing WAHI President, Lt. Wayne Smith of the Columbia County Sheriff’s Department was recognized as well as Janis Cada of the Adams County District Attorney’s office and Chris Byars of the Wisconsin Department of Criminal Investigation.