DHS: 16 counties now at ‘critically high’ COVID-19 case level

MADISON (WKBT) — The number of Wisconsin counties at a “critically high” level of COVID-19 cases doubled Thursday from 8 to 16.

Critically high is the most serious level of transmission. The rest of Wisconsin’s 72 counties are in the next highest, labeled “very high.”

The counties at a critically high level include: Juneau, Marquette, Calumet, Wood, Marathon, Marinette, Price, Pierce, St. Croix, Dunn, Polk, Barron, Burnett, Washburn, Sawyer, and Douglas counties.

Counties in our area, including La Crosse, Monroe, Vernon, Trempealeau, Jackson, Buffalo and Crawford counties, are all very high.

DHS makes the determination by looking at case activity levels and trajectories. Critically high means the case rate is more than 1,000 per 100,000 residents in the past two weeks. Very high means the case rate is between 350 and 1,000 per 100,000 people. Learn more here.

Recent News Headlines from News 8 Now  
City of La Crosse moves homeless individuals from Houska Park to motel for winter 
West Salem School District prepares for potential snow days 
As cases rise, Cashton parent raises concern over school board’s mask-optional vote 
COVID-19 makes hospital treatment difficult for La Crosse patients who don’t have the virus