Central’s Thornton, Holmen team among local winners at Bi-State

Aquinas beats G-E-T in busy day of high school sports


In the 32-year history of Bi-State, only five wrestlers have ever won the tournament all four years they competed. Now, make it six.

Ben Thornton sealed his title with a third period takedown of Viroqua’s JJ McClelland. He becomes only the second local wrestler to win four titles.

“It’s just too hard to explain,” Thornton said. “I was just so excited when once I got my hand raised because I’ve been working for this. Before my freshman year, when I was little I came here and watched it, saw how cool it was on that big stage and ever since then I knew I wanted to win it every year and I’m so glad I accomplished that.”

Led by Hunter Hauser (285) and Ryan Stalsberg (138), Holmen won its first ever Division One title.

“It’s a big relief to finally finish first in division one, but at the same time it’s a little bit bitter because where we finished in the overall [standings],” said Holmen Head Coach Jason Lulloff. “I’m a little bit greedy. I always want the best of the best and I think our guys want the best of the best, but we’ll leave today with a smile on our face.”

Other local winners at Bi-State:

113: Taylor Elliott, PdC
132: Devin Bahr, West Salem/Bangor
170: Justin Dolata, Mauston
195: Jordan Reisinger, Tomah

Boys Basketball

G-E-T 51, Aquinas 59

Logan 60, WInona 75

Holmen 43, Stevens Point 66

Melrose-Mindoro 57, West Salem 77

Osseo-Fairchild 75, Luther 56

La Farge 62, Independence 41

Eleva-Strum 62, Durand 33

Hillsboro 49, Fennimore 37

Cashton 52, Houston 37

C-FC 53, Mabel-Canton 34

Alma/Pepin 49, Wabasha-Kellogg 41

Girls Basketball

Tomah 35, West Salem 48

Markesan 23, Aquinas 40

Logan 46, Auburndale 41

Bangor 48, Viroqua 22

Spring Grove 51, Holmen 48

BRF 39, Cornell 26

Tri-County 24, Necedah 26 (Necedah snaps 43 game losing streak)

C-FC 44, Mabel-Canton 43

La Crescent 56, Caledonia 43

Lomira 41, Independence 34

Osseo-Fairchild 45, Luther 59

Kasson-Mantorville 75, Winona 64

Girls Hockey

Orono, Minn. 9, Onalaska 5


Coulee Region 2, Janesville 4

Men’s Basketball

UW-La Crosse 58, Augustana 71