44 eagle scouts recognized

Young boy scouts achieve eagle ranks

The Gateway Area Council recognized 44 young men who have earned the rank of Eagle Scout in the past year on Tuesday evening, April 9 at the annual Eagle Scout Social.

Executive Director, Joe Carlson says “We do this event annualy and it’s a great way for us to really applaud the accomplishments of these young men, celebrate the impacts that they’ve provided to the various communities through their eagle scout service projects, and then also celebrate their bright futures ahead of them.”

The evening featured several highlights including a keynote speech by Dr. Richard Kyte, Director, D.B. Reinhart Institute for Ethics in Leadership, Viterbo University.

In addition to recognizing the 2018 class of Eagle Scouts, the Gateway Area Council also presented the annual Visionary Award to the Rotary Club of La Crosse, in recognition of Rotary’s 100 years of service to the La Crosse community and to the significant contribution the club has made towards scouting.

The Gateway Area Council also presented the prestigious Silver Beaver Award to three volunteers in recognition of their long-time volunteer work towards scouting. The recipients were Leigh Frisk of Sparta; Toby Adams of French Island; and Eric Strauss of Holmen.

The Gateway Area Council provides programming to 7,800 youth throughout a nine-county region of Western Wisconsin and Southeast Minnesota with the help of nearly 850 adult volunteers.

For more information, visit www.gatewayscouting.org

Get your weather forecast from people that actually live in your community. We update with short, easy-to-use video forecasts you can watch on your phone every day. Download the iOS or Android app here.