Wisconsin Sports

La Crosse Loggers win Northwoods League Championship

LA CROSSE, Wis. -- Ten years of baseball in La Crosse has made its greatest memory, a Northwoods League Championship!

The La Crosse Loggers completed the sweep of the Mankato MoonDogs at Copeland Park Friday with an 8-1 victory to claim their first NWL Championship in franchise history.

Tyler Kuresa drove in the go-ahead run Friday in the bottom of the 3rd inning with a bases-loaded clearing double.

Jesse Holiday pitched five innings, only allowing three hits and one earned run to collect the win.

Kevin Kramer, Matt Chapman, and Brandon Bednar lead the Loggers to a 12-2 victory in Mankato Thursday night.

The Loggers finished the regular season with the best record, 49-21, in the NWL in 2012. They swept the Wisconsin Woodchucks in the first round of the playoffs to advance to the NWL championship series.


Top Sports Videos

Latest Sports Headlines

This Week's Circulars