Wisconsin Sports

Big Ten honors six Badgers

Frank Kaminsky named first-team all-Big Ten

MADISON, Wis. (WKBT) - Wisconsin junior center Frank Kaminsky leads a list of six Badgers to earn all-Big Ten honors.

Kaminsky is a consensus first-team all-Big Ten honoree. He is the eighth Badger to be named first-team all-Big Ten during Bo Ryan's 13 seasons, and the first since Jordan Taylor and Jon Leuer in 2011.

"I'm honored that people think I'm worthy of first-team All-Big Ten and I'm happy that I'm able to contribute to the team success we're having," Kaminsky said in a press release. "When you come into the program you hear all about the great players who have come before you and made Wisconsin what it is. I'm humbled to be in that company."

Sam Dekker was voted second-team all-Big Ten by the coaches and third-team by the media.

Freshman Nigel Hayes was tabbed the Big Ten's Sixth Man of the Year and was also named to the Big Ten all-Freshman Team.

Ben Brust, Josh Gasser and Traevon Jackson each earned honorable mention all-Big Ten honors. Gasser was also chosen to the Big Ten's all-Defensive team.

"I'm proud of our guys that were recognized and like I always say, individuals getting accolades is a reflection on the work that the whole team is doing," head coach Bo Ryan said. "I think having six players named to the list speaks to the balance of our team and the success we have had collectively."

The Badgers open postseason play as the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament.

Top Sports Videos

Latest Sports Headlines

This Week's Circulars