Dayne a member of '13 College Football Hall of Fame class

Ron Dayne becomes the 13th former Badgers' player or coach elected into the College Football Hall of Fame. Dayne was one of  14 announced on Tuesday to be enshrined as part of the 2013 class.

Induction for this class of Hall of Famers will take place December 10, 2013 at the 56th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner in New York City.

Dayne concluded his college career at the University of Wisconsin as college football's all-time leading rusher with 7,125 career rushing yards. He won the 1999 Heisman Trophy award his senior season after topping the 2,000-yard mark for the second time in his career.

"I'm very excited and thrilled to be mentioned with the greatest names in college football history," Dayne tells "This is a tremendous honor for me and the university. As with everything in my career, I see this as a team honor and something I never could have achieved without my teammates and coaches."

Wisconsin enjoyed great success in their bowl games in Dayne's four seasons. He earned MVP honors in three of his four bowl appearances including back-to-back Rose Bowl titles in 1999 and 2000.

The Berlin, New Jersey native was inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame in 2011. Dayne's No. 33 was officially retired by Wisconsin in 2007. He was elected to the UW Athletics Hall of Fame in 2009.

"In my opinion, Ron was simply the most dominant running back that ever played college football," said Dayne's former coach, current Wisconsin Director of Athletics Barry Alvarez. "If the rules back then were the same as they are now, with bowl games counting towards his career rushing total, no one would even come close to touching his record. We've had a lot of great players come through here but when people think of Wisconsin football, they think of Ron Dayne running the football."

The entire 2013 College Football Hall of Fame Class: Ted Brown (North Carolina State), Tedy Bruschi (Arizona), Ron Dayne (Wisconsin), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska), Jerry Gray (Texas), Steve Meilinger (Kentucky), Orlando Pace (Ohio State), Rod Shoate (Oklahoma), Percy Snow (Michigan State), Vinny Testaverde (Miami), Don Trull (Baylor), Danny Wuerffel (Florida) and coaches Wayne Hardin (Navy, Temple) and Bill McCartney (Colorado).

Top Sports Videos

Latest Sports Headlines

This Week's Circulars