Bo Ryan named Big Ten coach of the year

CHICAGO - Both the media and coaches named Badgers Head Coach Bo Ryan coach of the year in the Big Ten Conference.

Despite losing point guard Josh Gasser for the season, Ryan led the Badgers to their 12th straight top-4 finish in one of the country's toughest conferences.

This is Ryan's third Big Ten coach of the year award, which puts him in elite company; only Gene Keady and Bob Knight have more.

A few Badgers players were also honored. Jared Berggren was chosen second-team All-Big Ten by the coaches and the media, as well as an All-Big Ten Defensive Team honoree. Ben Brust and Sam Dekker were each honorable mention selections. Dekker was also named to the Big Ten's All-Freshman Team.

The Badgers play either Penn State or Michigan Friday in the Big Ten Tournament.

Top Sports Videos

Latest Sports Headlines

This Week's Circulars