MADISON, Wis. -- Badgers head football coach Bret Bielema announced the six team captains for the 2012-13 season.

They include offensive tackle Ricky Wagner, center Jordan Frederick and running back Montee Ball.

The defensive captains include linebackers Mike Taylor and Chris Borland and safety Shelton Johnson.

Wisconsin opens its regular season Saturday, September 1st against Northern Iowa at Camp Randall Stadium.