MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Gov. Scott Walker is expected to sign a bill that would ban young drivers from using cell phones.
The measure would ban anyone driving a motor vehicle under an instruction permit or a probationary license from using a cell phone or other wireless device.
First-time violators would face a fine of $20 to $40. Repeat offenders would face fines ranging from $50 to $100.
The state Assembly passed the bill unanimously in February. The Senate concurred earlier this month on a voice vote with no debate.
Walker is scheduled to sign the bill Thursday afternoon in Milwaukee.
- Walker hopes federal government shutdown can be avoided
- Baldwin encourages Perdue to visit Wisconsin dairy farmers
- Bills to fight homelessness in Wisconsin up for vote
- Proposal would allow homemade baked goods sales in Wisconsin
- Wisconsin dairy farms face closure due to Canadian policies
- Walker says he has 'no interest' in higher vehicle fees
- Local students compete in dairy cook off
- Cub scouts donate bird nest boxes to La Crosse marsh
- La Crosse Police policies to be assessed in accreditation process
- Excessive use of technology among youth raising concerns