Iowa News

USDA declares drought disaster in parts of Iowa, Minnesota

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - In northern Iowa, Kossuth County has been designated as a natural disaster area by the U.S. Department of Agriculture because of damage and losses caused by drought.

The USDA says in statement released Wednesday that the designation makes farmers eligible for low-interest emergency loans through the USDA's Farm Service Agency.

Farmers have eight months to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

The declaration also makes farmers in contiguous counties eligible for the loans including those in Emmet, Hancock, Humboldt, Palo Alto, Pocohontas, Winnebago, and Wright counties.

Farmers in Faribault and Martin counties in Minnesota are included as well.

Top Videos

Latest News

This Week's Circulars