Iowa News

Obama OKs disaster declaration for 10 Iowa counties

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster exists in 10 eastern Iowa counties hit by storms and flooding in June.

The White House says in a news release that Obama signed the declaration Wednesday evening for Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Clayton, Delaware, Howard, Jones and Winneshiek counties for damage they received due to storms and flooding from June 21 to 28.

The declaration makes federal funding available to state and local governments as well as some nonprofit groups for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says more declarations could be made later if requested by the state.

Top Videos

Latest News

This Week's Circulars