Iowa News

Democrats retain seat in northern Iowa House vote

MASON CITY, Iowa (AP) - Democrats have retained the Iowa House District 52 seat in a special election.

Assistant Floyd County Attorney Todd Prichard beat Republican Dennis Litterer and independent Craig Clark in Tuesday's election. The unofficial totals were 54.6 percent for Prichard, 43.7 percent for Litterer and 1.5 percent for Clark.

The district is composed of all of Floyd and Chickasaw counties and part of western Cerro Gordo County.

Prichard replaces Brian Quirk, of New Hampton. The incumbent Democrat won re-election in November but resigned in December because of a new job.

With Prichard's election, the party balance in the House remains 53 Republicans and 47 Democrats.

Top Videos

Latest News

This Week's Circulars