A district judge from Des Moines, an assistant attorney general from West Des Moines and a Marshalltown lawyer are the three finalists for a seat on the Iowa Court of Appeals.

The names of Judge Christopher McDonald, Assistant Attorney General Jeanie Kunkle Vaudt, and attorney Sharon Greer were forwarded to Gov. Terry Branstad Thursday by the state's judicial nominating committee. The three were selected from 22 applicants.

The Iowa Constitution gives Branstad 30 days to make an appointment to the court from the three finalists.

The appointee will fill the vacancy on the court that will occur when Chief Judge Larry Eisenhauer retires on Sept. 30.