Keely Arthur

Keely Arthur

Facebook: WKBT Keely Arthur

Twitter: @news8keely

--------------

Keely joined the News 8 team in August 2014. She attended the University of Wisconsin-Madison and studied Journalism & Mass Communication and History. She spent a semester abroad exploring Australia and New Zealand.

Keely’s first step into television broadcasting was as a sports intern at WKOW 27 News in Madison. She then shifted lanes as a news intern at Madison’s top-rated station and News 8’s sister station WISC, where her stories aired in a variety of shows and formats. After learning the ropes at News 3 she headed further up north to WKBT, where she now works as a full-time reporter.

Keely is originally from Schaumburg, Illinois. She grew up there with her dad, mom, sister and their dog Happy.  She spent most of her time involved in numerous dance companies and troupes, and wishes there were more hours in the day so she could continue that hobby.

She is excited to work in such a beautiful environment like La Crosse, and learn more about her new community.

More about Keely:

Favorite song: "Just like Heaven" by The Cure
Favorite band: Nirvana
Favorite movie: “Titanic”
Favorite book: Whatever I'm currently reading
My best day at News 8 was the day...the first day I went on air at News 8!
Do you have a personal motto or quote that inspires you? Try to make each day better than the last!
If you could interview one person, living or deceased, who would that be? My grandma. I never got to meet her. She traveled from Estonia to America during WWII when she was very young and with very little. I can't imagine leaving home like that and anyone capable of that has to be pretty amazing.
Favorite way to spend a day off? Going to my family's lake house and spending the day on the boat with my family and friends.
What sports team are you a big fan of? Go Badgers!
What are you bad at and wish you could do better? Singing, but I sound great in my car!
Do you have a hobby or collect anything special to you? I like to take lots of pictures and I make sure to print out the extra special ones!
Favorite food: Chips and salsa
What do you like about your job? I love meeting all the people in the area that shape our viewing area and make it so unique. Every day I learn something (often many things) thanks to the people I interview and work with. It’s really easy to wake up and get motivated about my job, because the news, if it’s done right, can truly make a positive difference, and I love being a part of that.
Pizza.  Sausage, pepperoni or everything on it? Everything, no olives please!
Tell us about your family:  My mom, Tina, and my Dad, Dave, live in Schaumburg, Ilinois. They’ve been married for 27 years, and  just sent my little sister, Megan, off to begin her freshman year at Arizona State University…go Sun Devils! I have the best boyfriend in the world, Matt. He's studying in Madison for a PhD in chemistry and is from Canada.