Mark Twain humor award winners

Published On: Oct 21 2013 11:11:16 AM CDT   Updated On: Oct 19 2015 09:53:00 AM CDT

On Sunday night, Eddie Murphy became the latest recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, an award given by The Kennedy Center to Americans whose impact on society is reminiscent of essayist and satirist Mark Twain. Take a look at all the previous winners.

George Carlin
8 / 18
Neilson Barnard/Getty Images

2008: George Carlin, stand-up comedian, actor and author known for comedy routines including "Seven Dirty Words"

Upload Photos / Videos