Mark Twain humor award winners

Published On: Oct 21 2013 11:11:16 AM CDT   Updated On: Oct 19 2015 09:53:00 AM CDT

On Sunday night, Eddie Murphy became the latest recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, an award given by The Kennedy Center to Americans whose impact on society is reminiscent of essayist and satirist Mark Twain. Take a look at all the previous winners.

Carl Reiner
16 / 18
Kevin Winter/Getty Images

2000: Carl Reiner (left, with son Rob Reiner), author, actor, writer and director known for his work on "The Dick Van Dyke Show" and movies including "Oh, God!" and "The Jerk"

Upload Photos / Videos