Mark Twain humor award winners

Published On: Oct 21 2013 11:11:16 AM CDT   Updated On: Nov 03 2014 11:36:08 PM CST

Take a look at the comedians who have won the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, an award given by The Kennedy Center to Americans whose impact on society is reminiscent of essayist and satirist Mark Twain.

Whoopi Goldberg
14 / 17
Dave Kotinsky/Getty Images

2001: Whoopi Goldberg, comedian, actress and activist known for her roles in films including "Ghost" and "The Color Purple"

Upload Photos / Videos